Learn the story of 김도경, a KUMFA mom

upload20160401_112359_0851482

The courage to launch my dream, that’s in me.
한국어
(Interview by Young Ju Yoon 윤영주 in management team)

한국어: here.  This article is an English translation of the original Korean version

Deputy Director Do Kyung Kim is a mom. She often notices others’ uneasy gazes. It must still be seen unusual that an unwed woman raises a child alone in Korea. Moreover, they do not stay as mere gazes at work or in society. Unmarried parents endure discrimination at workplaces, economic difficulties and social prejudices. And yet, there is an unwed mom who works with pride overcomming discrimination. Of course, she went through difficult processes so far before the present, and that is why she always tries to convey hope to other unwed moms. I met her, Do Kyung Kim (김도경), Deputy Director of KUMFA. 

– Please introduce yourself.
I’m 김도경, a deputy of KUMFA, running a travel agency. I have one son who is in 4th grade.
My work is to create travel packages and offer them to travel agencies. I put together everything [for it] about hotels, restaurants, tours, transportations, etc. at locations. So I  am a travel planner who sells the travel packages directly to customers and also offer them to travel agencies. My business specializes in Southeast Asia and Jeju Island.

– When did you start the travel business?
I took a trip to Europe in 1996. It was the first generation of European trips. I didn’t have enough money and it was hard but I fell in love with taking trips. I went to Philippines to have own business in 1999. I was in early 20s. I thought Korea is very small country so I turned my eyes to overseas. Philippines was economically cheaper and less developed so I thought I could get better chances. At first I had to learn about the country to do a business, so I worked as a travel guide figuring that I could visit various places and get a lot of information. That was the motive I started the travel agency. When I earned some money, I run a travel agency and bus service from Manila to Matnog. But I got a legal battle and I came back to Korea empty-handed.

I worked at a travel agency after coming back in 2004, and then I opened my own in March 2006. I wanted to be rewarded properly from my efforts and needed more money and time to raise a kid. I gave a birth in November 2006, I already prepared all during the pregnancy. It was so hard but I had to do for my baby. Now I’m running it by myself and handling everything alone what would take usually 2-3 people do. It’s possible because I worked in that field for long time and know how to get things done quickly. I put a lot of efforts to gain proficiency since I did not have money but only time and efforts. So, I worked with fewer sleeping hours. As you know it’s difficult to get an air ticket on holidays or peak seasons but I always got it for my customers. I usually work after midnight when others are sleeping so I made it possible what other agencies said impossible. And then many people trusted me, they recommended and I can keep my clients running the business at home without an office space.

upload20160401_112442_0767406

 – It’s so hard to care of a kid and work, how do you both?
I have been so busy that I did not even had time to think it was hard. I had to work without thinking about others. When I was dating my son’s father, he took out a loan in my name. So I had a lot of debt. I knew that’s so hard to pay the debt while taking care of a kid. Since having the child was choice, I thought I had to be responsible about it and paid off about $300,000 when my son was 7 years old. I always worked right even right before and after I gave a birth. If I didn’t pay the lenders constantly harassed me on the phone. I had a phone on my shoulder with one hand on the memopad while with the other hand breastfeeding my child. I worked hard and I’ve never thought that it’s hard because of my son. I paid off all debts when he was in 1st grade and we took a trip to Thailand with my parents. That’s a gift for me because I worked very hard and well. I think I deserve a reward for myself.

– What do you think an unwed parent needs most?
New housing policy. Now it’s focused on honeymooners. That’s for encouraging the birth from them but there is nothing for unwed parents even though they give a birth. I hope a housing policy for unwed mothers is enacted soon.

And one more thing, a child care service. I went to an evening college until last year, I used a child care service. It was expensive about $600 a month. An unwed parent needs it while they’re working or going to schools. Currently, only some people who earn money under $1300 a month can get a benefit. I wish it is extended to more people who really need it.

– You often appeared on TV show. If it is left to be desired or you have a hope, would you talk about it?
Unwed parents are portrayed in need of a sympathy on TV, we (KUMFA) don’t want to show them like that any more. A recent documentary was great because it showed our activities more than other program. We have to make sure about the purpose of TV show and what we’d like to show before we agree to participate. Nevertheless sometimes it shows what I did not intend to project. I hope it’s focused on overcoming their difficulties and making choices of the baby’s life. And I think they do not have to shown as being sad or dark. I’m looking forward to seeing diverse aspect of unwed parents on TV and I hope the view of the unwed parents will be improved gradually.

– You are a mom, representative of company, deputy of association and have a variety of roles, what would you like to be remembered as?
I’m a third daughter in a family of 4 sisters and 2 brothers. My parents really wanted many sons and my father raised me like a boy. So I detested myself being a girl when I was a teenager. But I felt it’s not bad when I worked as a travel guide in the Philippines. I figured out what is a real strength is witnessing that people are moved by not strong charisma but soft attitude and that they feel very comfortable. I’d like to be remembered as a ‘Wonderful woman’. There is prejudice against woman in any country, but I’m so proud of myself to overcome it and achieve many things as a woman. I think ‘a Woman’ means a mom, daughter and includes all of my roles.

– Lastly do you have anything to say?
There are job training programs only for nail arts, sewing, soap making, barista, beauty salons, etc. for moms. But they want to get more chances of diverse education. Recently we had an event,<Mom’s Future>, and asked moms what they want to be. They answered diverse positions which are not covered in existing educational programs, such as public official, nurse, social worker, etc. I hope many programs are developed that include various career paths. I think the beauty salon job is not good for unwed parent because most of them work late and on weekends also. The most important thing is a very flexible time and place for raising kids. That’s why I’ve worked at home so far. The job training programs are great but I think it is most important that they can secure jobs. Also I hope people with abilities can get supports of business fund to fulfill their dreams.

Leave a comment